Ottawa, ON

Thai Takeout at Champa Thai

For those who don’t know, I will be returning to Vancouver in approximately 5 days. Living off of minimal food at home, I’ve resorted to eating out and takeouts. This restaurant was actually suggested by my manager today, he said the portions were huge and he was right!

With tons of packing to do (Yes, I have a lot of shoes and they take up a lot of room in my luggage), I’ve resorted to ordering delivery at Champa Thai which is located on the southern portion of King Edward in Ottawa. This area can be a bit unsafe at night, so I definitely recommend bringing a friend with you or ordering takeout. I heard from my manager this place can only sit about 6-8 people, definitely resembles a takeout pizza store. With that in mind, I took my manager’s recommendation and ordered Combo A. This includes a Chicken Pad Thai, a Pad Sweet Basil Beef, two spring rolls, one soup, and a can of pop. All of this for $17.50 plus a $2 delivery fee, totaling $22. Even though it’s $22 for a dinner, this can last me at least two and a half meals! (Yes, half meals are like snacks to me :) ). In my opinion, its quite the deal!

With this being such a small restaurant in a quiet neighourhood, I didn’t expect much but the food was surprisingly good! The first thing that comes to mind when I think of asian takeouts, MSG. This place definitely met my expectations on that, minimal MSG in their food! The pad thai was good for its price (though I do think Salad King on Younge in Toronto, has slightly better pad thai) and the soup was great just because it has a bit of a kick at the end of every sip! What I would suggest though is that the meat at this Thai place is a bit overcooked, the chicken and beef were a bit rough… otherwise, I would say this is a good place for takeout!

Combo A: Pad Sweet Basil Beef, Chicken Pad Thai, Steamed Rice, Tom Yum Chicken Soup, 2 Spring Rolls, 1 Can of Pop (can substitute dishes)

note: when the person delivered the food, he asked : ” where is 604?” me: “Oh its in vancouver” delivery boy:”oh my god..” * looks at cellphone… Guess he should’ve texted me? :)

Gstar Ratings:


Champa Thai on Urbanspoon
-Gstar

3 thoughts on “Thai Takeout at Champa Thai

  1. All large purchases are always intimidating, especially if you are uninformed about the industry.
    One of the scariest purchases is buying cars. Many people fear they are getting ripped
    off and you surely don’t want that. Avoid buying a lemon by looking through these great tips and tricks regarding car purchases.

  2. I tend not to drop many remarks, however i did some searching and
    wound up here Thai Takeout at Champa Thai | SunnySideUp.
    And I do have 2 questions for you if you usually do not mind.
    Is it simply mme or does it give the impression like a few of the remarks come across like they are coming from brain dead folks? :-P And, if you are posting att additional places, I’d
    like to follow everything fresh you have to post.

    Would you list of every one of all your shared sites like
    your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

